Introduction

Hello!  Let me tell you a little about myself.

I’m a freelance web developer currently living in San Francisco.

I have a Masters in Computer Engineering and a Bachelors in CS, and I’ve been a working programmer for about eight years. I work with most of the popular web technologies and frameworks: WordPress, Rails, Django, JavaScript, etc.

Much of my client work involves building custom sites on top of the WordPress platform, so I’ve written a lot of WordPress code, including plugins, themes and taxonomies.

You can find out more about me on my website, codebykat.com.

Edited to add: Please do not use the comments section to report issues with my Post By Email plugin. Plugin issues should be reported on the support forum: http://wordpress.org/support/plugin/post-by-email . Thanks!

3 comments

  1. Hi Kat,

    On both a hosted envirionment (hostmonster) as well as a local install, i am consistently getting an error “An error occurred: Error connecting to POP3 server.”

    This is impossible to troubleshoot.

    I am trying
    – pop.gmail.com, SSL checked, Port = 995
    – pop-mail.outlook.com, SSL checked, Port = 995

    In both cases, the mailboxes have been configured to accept POP3 connections.

    1) Do you have any other issues reported on this combination?
    2) Can you tell me where I can find some logs or how I can turn on debugging to get more verbose logs?

    Thanks,
    prakalp.

    1. Those settings look right to me.

      Have you tried connecting to the mail server from your blog’s server? Sometimes hosting companies block outgoing connections. You’d want to connect to the POP3 port, using a process something like this: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/187785

      “Error connecting to the POP3 server” is the error returned by the underlying mail client library, and as such, is pretty informative. If it was able to reach the mail server, but could not log in, you’d see a different error.

      You can try enabling WP_DEBUG to see the full error message. https://codex.wordpress.org/WP_DEBUG

      Couple of misc things to try:
      * Try upgrading your version of PHP, that sometimes fixes issues (especially if you’re still on 5.2).
      * Try using IMAP instead of POP3, that will use a different port and might be able to get through.

      If you’re still having problems, please open an issue on the plugin’s support forum: http://wordpress.org/support/plugin/post-by-email

  2. PS:
    Just in case you wonder, I have tested both accounts with a firefox plugin to connect to the servers & download email (so somehow emulating the server & mailbox connection like the plugin would have to achieve) successfully.

Comments are closed.